Home / Spiritual / Islam / The Basic Concepts of Islam Explained

The Basic Concepts of Islam Explained

The basic concepts of Islam explained

Islam is a religion and people who follow Islam are called Muslims (Moslems).
The book of Islam is called The Holy Quran (Koran). This book is like a rule-book of Islam. It is used as a reference. Everything about Islam is mentioned in this book. It also contains guidelines on how to lead your life. You will also find fables and stories that are interesting and an example to follow.

The most basic concept of Islam is that there is only one God (also known as Allah in Arabic). The other concepts arise from this basic concept. Since there is only one God, only this God has the right to be worshipped. None other can be worshipped. No idols or deities. No statues.

God in Islam is considered to be Omnipotent (invincible) and Omnipresent (present everywhere). God knows the past and knows the future. God created the Universe and everything in it. Including human beings and animals. God has no equal. No family. God is the one and only.

Islam teaches you that since we owe our existence to God, we must show appreciation by worshipping Him. We must lead a life of simplicity and goodness. In return, we are promised a place in Heaven. Otherwise we shall punished by a place in Hell. Heaven in Islam, is a place full of goodies that will never run out. You can get anything you want. While Hell is defined as a place of misery and pain.

Another basic concept in Islam is Judgement Day. On this day, all life on Earth will be destroyed. All the dead will be brought back to life. Every person who has lived on Earth will be present at this time. Every person will be judged not by his race or social status. But only by the good and the bad deeds of the person. Depending on the deeds, the person will be granted a place in Heaven or Hell. A person may spend some time in Hell for his bad deeds and then move on to Heaven eternally.

To be a true Muslim, you must believe in the following:
– There is only one God
– None can be worshipped except God
– Prophet Mohammed (Muhammad) is the messenger of God
– Your deeds will be accounted for on the Day of Judgement

The following are considered the 5 pillars of Islam:
1. Kalima: The believe in the Kalima, which is an Arabic recital that when translated in English, means, “There is no God but Allah and Muhammad is his messenger”
2. Prayers: To worship God 5 times a day
3. Charity: To give money in charity as often as you can.
4. Fasting: To fast during the Islamic calendar month of Ramadan.
5. Hajj: To carry out a pilgrimage to Makkah (Mecca) and Madinah (Medina) at least once in a lifetime if you are able-bodied and can afford it.

Islam seriously forbids the following:
Accepting or giving interest or usury.
Consuming pork and some other types of meat*
Consuming any kind of intoxicants. E.g. alcohol, drugs or anything else that makes you go high
Gambling and all associated activities
Discrimination in all forms
* If it’s a matter of survival, forbidden meat can be consumed as long as no other food is available.

The main teachings of Islam:
Everyone was created equal. No one should be discriminated. A king is the same as a pauper.
To love each other and live in peace
To lead a simple and humble life
To thank God all the time